Junior high science teacher wins 2017 Teacher of the Year award
Gilbert Public Schools holds first Teacher of the Year celebration
Gilbert Public Schools 2017 Teachers of the Year

By Eduardo Barraza
March 10, 2017

(Gilbert, Arizona) -- Gilbert Public Schools held its first annual “Teacher of the Year” celebration Thursday night.

The event took place in the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Gilbert.

Forty teachers –one for each school in the District– were named “2017 Teacher of the Year” for their respective school.

One of the teachers, Kymberly Wynn, who teaches science at South Valley Junior High, was awarded the District’s TOY Award.

All 40 teachers were nominated by their peers for their outstanding work in the classroom.

After the selection process to choose the 2017 teacher of the year, five teachers became semifinalists.

As the selection process moved to the next phase, Winn and fellow teachers Cheryl Collins and Nick Cornell became the three finalists.

Collins is a kindergarten teacher at Pioneer Elementary School and Cornell teaches physical education at Campo Verde High School.

In attendance to the event were more than 400 people, including Superintendent Dr. Christina Kishimoto, Gilbert Mayor Jen Daniels, awardee teachers and their families, sponsors, members of the media, and school and district administrators.

In addition to the teacher of the year award, Dr. Kishimoto also presented a special recognition award to Diane Drazinsky, GPS Chemistry Teacher and GEA President.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.