Return to Headlines

AEF 2020 A+ School of Excellence™ Winners

Phoenix, AZ, October 7, 2020 – The Arizona Educational Foundation (AEF) has announced the names of 44 Arizona public schools receiving the coveted A+ School of Excellence™ Award, five from Gilbert Public Schools.

AEF has been championing public schools with the A+ School of Excellence™ Award program since 1983. The A+ Award is a way to identify, celebrate, and recognize educational excellence in PreK-12 th grade schools throughout Arizona. In addition to showcasing outstanding public schools, the A+ program provides school teams with an extensive comprehensive framework that serves as a basis for school self-assessment and planning. The A+ School of Excellence™ award is a powerful energizer for increasing public confidence in recognized schools, often resulting in greater parent and community involvement and even serves as an economic driver for some communities. A+ Schools are celebrated and recognized as exceptional. Earning the highly prestigious and coveted A+ School of Excellence designation spotlights the positive successes happening in public schools every day.

The 2020 A+ School of Excellence™ winning schools in the Gilbert Public Schools District are:

 Arizona Education Foundation 2020 A+ School of Excellence™ Winners

Ashland Ranch Elementary

Carol Rae Ranch Elementary

Campo Verde High

Gilbert Classical Academy

Highland High

“The A+ School of Excellence™ Award shines a spotlight on the positive stories and successes occurring in public schools,” said AEF Executive Director, Kim Graham. “The application and evaluation process for this program is comprehensive and rigorous. We applaud these schools for exceeding expectations to meet their students’ needs and for achieving overall success despite the many challenges that face the education community statewide.”

Applicant schools are evaluated in the areas of student focus and support, school culture, active teaching and learning, curriculum, leadership, community and parent involvement and assessment data.

Applications are made available to Pre-Kindergarten through 12th grade public schools statewide. Evaluation of schools is based on a written application submitted by the school and a site visit conducted by a team of trained judges. In the application, each school provides demographic information, a description of current programs and practices, documentation of parent and community involvement, and a profile of the school’s principal and the school community’s commitment to excellence, equity, service and sustained high achievement.

Preparation of each school’s application involves collaboration among all stakeholders including students, faculty, staff, administrators and community members. Schools receive $500 and a banner designating them as an A+ School of Excellence™ winner. The award is valid for four years. Recognition through the A+ School of Excellence™ program helps increase confidence in Arizona’s public schools and creates greater parent and community support.


View additional information about the A+ School of Excellence program | View all current and past A+ Schools

About Arizona Educational Foundation: The mission of AEF is to identify, support and celebrate excellence in Pre-K-12th grade Arizona public education through business and community partnerships. We do this through a variety of programs for teachers, administrators, and students. Some of our programs shine a spotlight on excellence; others provide a steppingstone to help support schools and educators on the road to awesomeness. In addition to the Arizona Teacher of the Year program, AEF also coordinates the Arizona State Spelling Bee, the A+ School of Excellence Award, the Principals Leadership Academy of Arizona, teachSTEM, and Take Your Legislator to School. AEF was founded in 1983 by then State Superintendent of Public Education, Carolyn Warner, who felt a nonprofit needed to be established to champion public education and recognize the great work of public school educators.